|
An important alert to the artists of TC |
Humuhumu Grand Member (5 years)
Joined: Aug 22, 2002 Posts: 3536 From: San Francisco
| Posted: 2005-07-21 1:50 pm  Permalink
This thread from Tiki Marketplace might be of particular interest to the artists on TC:
http://www.tikiroom.com/tikicentral/bb/viewtopic.php?topic=15570&forum=12&start=15&17
Until this gets cleared up, I'd urge all of you to be on the lookout for illegal use of your designs, especially on eBay. If you do see your designs being used illegally, contact eBay to have the auction stopped.
Hopefully surfinstro can explain this to us in a way that is satisfactory. All TCers should feel free to let their voices be heard on this issue.
_________________
Critiki - Ooga-Mooga - Humu Kon Tiki
 
 
|
purple jade Tiki Socialite
Joined: Feb 19, 2003 Posts: 1450 From: New Orleans
| Posted: 2005-07-21 1:54 pm  Permalink
Thanks Humu.

 
 
|
Capt'n Skully Tiki Socialite
Joined: May 28, 2005 Posts: 404 From: The Lost Lagoon
| Posted: 2005-07-21 4:18 pm  Permalink
Tiki- Protector of the artist/creative/fun... Not to be messed with.
Humuhumu- Special TC Agent and now Tiki Demi-God. Also not to be messed with.
_________________ ~Skully

 
 
|
Chongolio Tiki Socialite
Joined: Oct 02, 2002 Posts: 2765 From: The Coast of Kauai
| Posted: 2005-07-21 4:22 pm  Permalink
Yeah Humu, thanks for looking out for us artistic types.
Chongolio
 
 
|
surfinstro Tiki Centralite
Joined: Jul 12, 2005 Posts: 30 From: East Coast, USA
| Posted: 2005-07-21 8:58 pm  Permalink
All stone casting that I have sold on ebay have been purchased thru another eBay member "gostatue". She has been selling there since 2002. There is another member on here who sells the same type of casting only they are in plaster who has stated that I stole his molds. But as it turns out he has purchased similar molds from another mold seller.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8205812260&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1
In fact he paints them the same way as the mold seller has advertised.
I have molds of S&P shakers that I will be selling as soon as they are painted. Also I have copy molds of KAHIKI necklaces that I sell.
_________________
 
 
|
SwampCreature Tiki Centralite
Joined: Jun 15, 2005 Posts: 76 | Posted: 2005-07-21 11:13 pm  Permalink
Yawn.....
 
 
|
surfinstro Tiki Centralite
Joined: Jul 12, 2005 Posts: 30 From: East Coast, USA
| Posted: 2005-07-21 11:24 pm  Permalink
Yawn on this...
 
 
|
Humuhumu Grand Member (5 years)
Joined: Aug 22, 2002 Posts: 3536 From: San Francisco
| Posted: 2005-07-22 09:39 am  Permalink
Surfinstro, thank you for clarifying the source of your mold for one of the questionable items you are selling. However, I've confirmed with Bamzeno of Tiki Freaks that the necklaces you are selling are a Tiki Freaks design, and thus not available as a mold, and that he most definitely has not given permission for the use of his design.
_________________
Critiki - Ooga-Mooga - Humu Kon Tiki
 
 
|
surfinstro Tiki Centralite
Joined: Jul 12, 2005 Posts: 30 From: East Coast, USA
| Posted: 2005-07-22 11:51 am  Permalink
No he hasen't given permission to sell them. In fact I haven't sold one yet. They were listed twice with no bids. I believe it is the best one too. How about I give them away with each purchase?
I am in the process of carving my own so I can sell them.
I know exactly how it is when someone copies your work. I had quite a few stain glass projects of mine copied and then published. I made $0. I couldn't do a damm thing about it as the company had lawyers and I didn't. I took it as a compliment, that's all I had.
 
 
|
FLOUNDERart Tiki Socialite
Joined: Sep 02, 2003 Posts: 1140 From: Orlando Florida
| Posted: 2005-07-22 1:32 pm  Permalink
Does Capt'n Skully know your using his image on your homepage?
[ This Message was edited by: FLOUNDERart 2005-07-22 13:33 ]
 
 
|
hanford_lemoore Grand Member (8 years)
Joined: Mar 23, 2002 Posts: 1864 From: Tiki Central
| Posted: 2005-07-22 1:52 pm  Permalink
I've banned Surfinstro. For the members here who know him personally, please let him know that he was completely out of line.
I'd like to point out that I watched the Surfinstro stuff go down over the last few weeks but never got a complaint from a user until 2 days ago. I look to U-Mods for hints as to what the members of Tiki Central want to happen.
~Hanford
 
 
|
Unga Bunga Tiki Socialite
Joined: Jun 06, 2003 Posts: 5734 From: CaliTikifornia
| Posted: 2005-07-22 1:58 pm  Permalink
No loss.
 
 
|
GMAN Tiki Socialite
Joined: Jul 14, 2005 Posts: 2994 From: My Island
| Posted: 2005-07-22 5:36 pm  Permalink
Hey guys,
This man has contacted me about purchasing one of my carvings. What should I do? Is he actually making molds of people's work and marketing them? If so, I'll see what my lawyer friends have to say about that. Federal lawyers know everything! I believe that as an artist running a legal small business and selling original work, I am covered by some copywrite laws. I'll look further into it, but if your pieces have been copied/duplicated, you should to speak to a lawyer or do some research. Any illegal/unauthorized molds need to be destroyed, and people need to be compensated.
I sell my carvings for people to enjoy, not copy, cast, and make money on. That sucks!
-Gman
_________________
http://www.oceanandislandarts.blogspot.com/
 
 
|
RevBambooBen Tiki Socialite
Joined: Nov 12, 2002 Posts: 7197 From: Huntikington Beach
| Posted: 2005-07-23 12:29 am  Permalink
surfinstro-SOB-ocean tiki, etc....?
In the "Immortal words of Rodney Dangerfield, No RESPECT!!"
 
 
|
Razor Member
Joined: Jul 24, 2005 Posts: 4 | Posted: 2005-07-24 1:00 pm  Permalink
How much sense does that make to kick him off this forum?
Because he copied someones design? Are these designs copywrited? Is the site owner based in Russia or USA?
EVERYBODY COPYS SOMEONE ELSE. THERE IS NO ORIGINAL DESIGN ANYWHERE.
 
 
|