FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums General Tiki Could this be a TIKI party room?
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )
Could this be a TIKI party room?
txmod
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2007-02-21 8:37 pm   Permalink

In my quest to save mod houses around Houston, I came across a grand 50's house with a huge party/ball room. It has this wood which no one has ever been able to say with certainy what it is, (possibly bocolo rosewood?) the poor house is in desperate need of some luv.

Anyway, I am no TIKI expert, but this wood treatment looks like it would make a good starting point for a tiki theme. What would you do with something like this? Would you consider this a tiki accent? Or just something else altogether.

View Profile of txmod Send a personal message to txmod  Goto the website of txmod     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Formikahini
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2007-02-21 9:04 pm   Permalink

Hey Txmod! Welcome to Tiki Central.

That's a really cool looking house!
It may not be tiki per se, but it's a definite Wowie Pad.
The wood looks like cedar, just from the photos (but you'd know if it was that, duh) - weird.

(Are you on HAIF? I've been majorly lurking there.)

What part of town is the house in?

Formikahini

View Profile of Formikahini Send a personal message to Formikahini  Email Formikahini     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Unkle John
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2007-02-21 9:06 pm   Permalink

THAT is a swank pad!

View Profile of Unkle John Send a personal message to Unkle John  Email Unkle John Goto the website of Unkle John     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Ojaitimo
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2007-02-21 9:26 pm   Permalink

Very cool Txmod. Welcome to Tiki Central.