advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Collecting Tiki Help, is this really "vintage?"
Help, is this really "vintage?"
dreadpyrat

Posted: 2004-11-29 11:38 am   Permalink

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=2004&item=3942480314&rd=1

It looks suspiciously like a modern doll but I dont know my hula girls very well so any input is appreciated!

View Profile of dreadpyrat Send a personal message to dreadpyrat      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Tiki Matt
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2004-11-29 1:29 pm   Permalink

I'm no expert, but it looks vintage. The skirts on the new ones aren't silk (as far as I know).

View Profile of Tiki Matt Send a personal message to Tiki Matt  Goto the website of Tiki Matt     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Tiki_Bong
Deleted

Posted: 2004-11-29 5:18 pm   Permalink

Tiki Matt is correct, the skirt material is indicative of a vintage nodder. Another mark would be if it had a 'Made in Japan' tamp on the base.

Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
dogbytes

Posted: 2004-11-29 5:58 pm   Permalink

"repair on her feet - not terribly obvious but could be easily touch up and would not be noticed"

looks like she was snapped off at the ankles!

View Profile of dogbytes Send a personal message to dogbytes  Email dogbytes Goto the website of dogbytes     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
dreadpyrat

Posted: 2004-11-29 6:53 pm   Permalink

Thanks all! Ah yes, I didnt even notcie the snap repair on the ankles. Good catch! Hm...I'm winning the auction right now so I might get stuck with this gimpy gal.

View Profile of dreadpyrat Send a personal message to dreadpyrat      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
dangergirl299
Grand Member (first year)  

Posted: 2004-11-29 6:57 pm   Permalink