FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT


advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Beyond Tiki XBOX question
XBOX question
tiki mick
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Aug 11, 2003
Posts: 398
From: Socal
Posted: 2004-11-29 12:26 pm   Permalink

I am new to Gaming, and just bought the Xbox. My TV is older, and does not have the three colored inputs, only an antenna input. I bought the RF adapter and although I can get the games to work, I am getting a heck of a lot of distortion in the sound, and the images. I cannot fix the contrast on my TV, and the images are extrememly bright and washed out sometimes, and any white or bright objects on the screen (including loading menus) results in a loud buzzing sound. Sometimes, the menus themselves are distorted, almost as though I am receiving the game images thru the air (lie a TV broadcast)

Is this problem based on my poor quality TV? The connections seem tight, but I also noticed regular Videos played thru my VCR (VCR also is older, and only has Antenna/RF output) also seem slightly grainy.


 
View Profile of tiki mick Send a personal message to tiki mick      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Unga Bunga
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 06, 2003
Posts: 5808
From: CaliTikifornia
Posted: 2004-11-29 12:32 pm   Permalink

Hey Mick!
Time to ask Santa for a new TV.
Then your X-Box will come alive.


 
View Profile of Unga Bunga Send a personal message to Unga Bunga      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
the drunken hat
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Dec 20, 2003
Posts: 331
From: Modesto, CA
Posted: 2004-11-29 12:42 pm   Permalink

when i got my xbox i had an old tv too. what i did was hook it up thru my vcr. this does not work. it scrambles the signal so you can't copy dvds to vhs(why anyone would want to i don't know). i then hooked it directly to the tv and it was fine.

it could also be that the antenna input on the t.v. is bad. is your vcr attached to the rf adaptor? if so it could be a bad adaptor. the cheapest thing to try would be to return the adaptor and get a new one. if that doesn't work it is probably the T.V.

good luck and hope this helps.
_________________
i ain't drunk.......i'm jus drankin. albert collins


 
View Profile of the drunken hat Send a personal message to the drunken hat  Email the drunken hat     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
BarkerBird
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 168
Posted: 2004-11-29 1:04 pm   Permalink

I have to agree with Unga Bunga.

Running an Xbox through a video antenna on a tv old enough to require it, yikes.

That's like putting training wheels on the Space Shuttle.

Spend the $200 and get a modern TV. You'll be much happier.


 
View Profile of BarkerBird Send a personal message to BarkerBird      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
tiki mick
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Aug 11, 2003
Posts: 398
From: Socal
Posted: 2004-11-29 2:06 pm   Permalink

Thanx guys....I think it is the crappy TV I need to get rid of!

It's funny, but I bought this unit for some relaxing before-I-go-to-sleep activities, but that Medal of Honor: frontline....all I can say is WOW! It got me all wound up!

My only regret is there is not enough blood or body parts..no entrails coming out of stomachs, no screaming in agony, like in real combat! Oh, and as hard as I tried I could not frag the captain, or shoot any of my teammembers!
But blowing up Krauts is pretty fun though!


 
View Profile of tiki mick Send a personal message to tiki mick      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Tiki_Bong
Deleted

Joined: Mar 25, 2002
Posts: 0
Posted: 2004-11-29 5:24 pm   Permalink

TikiMick,

Why is it you got $ to buy an XBox, but no money to buy your own microphone for our band?

(hey, do you have money because now she's your XBox?)
_________________
"I'm ashamed to be here, but not too ashamed to leave..."


    
Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
martiki
Official Mixologist

Joined: Mar 29, 2002
Posts: 3058
From: http://www.smugglerscovesf.com
Posted: 2004-11-29 7:02 pm   Permalink

Unrelated XBox question:

Can you get a regular PC style keyboard and 3 button mouse for the XBox?

I have tried and tried, but I just can't get used to the XBox stick for FPSs. I gotta get my mouselook on!


 
View Profile of martiki Send a personal message to martiki  Email martiki Goto the website of martiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Turbogod
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 14, 2002
Posts: 1219
Posted: 2004-11-29 8:27 pm   Permalink

Yes they do.
http://xbox.gamespy.com/articles/565/565000p1.html

 View Profile of Turbogod Send a personal message to Turbogod      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
martiki
Official Mixologist

Joined: Mar 29, 2002
Posts: 3058
From: http://www.smugglerscovesf.com
Posted: 2004-11-30 12:19 pm   Permalink

Thanks for that TG. Sounds promising, but a little screwy. I think I'll just wait until 2006 to play Halo 2 on PC. Or 2009 on a Mac! (accept the joke, mac users) I'm really surprised that there just isn't a straight ahead keyboard accessory from Microsoft, considering who they are and considering the expanding online component of the XBox. I'll stick with HL2 for now.

Tiki Bot has a good point about consoles being plug and play and no video card problems and all that. But I gotta say, I'll stick with PC gaming for now, despite the fuss.

1. Mouse/Keyboard is so much easier with FPSs, imho. Game Pads are great with less complicated games.

2. There's so much user development in PC gaming. New skins, levels, mods, weapons, cheats- keeps gameplay really fresh and interesting for a longer time.

3. The unending joy that is MAME. Plus emulators for just about every console system out there, especially the classics.

4. Speaking of the classics, for either console or PC, I highly recommend an X-Arcade stick. Real arcade controls that you can beat the shit out of.

http://www.x-arcade.com/index.shtml

Or you can build your own if you're crafty enough, and lay out everything the way you want it. Plus spinners and trackballs!

http://www.happcontrols.com/



As an aside, speaking of Macs: It's kind of a cruel irony that Bungie (makers of Halo) used to make Mac games, including a terrific early shooter called Marathon. Then, of course, they were inhaled by the evil empire, and there you have it.




 View Profile of martiki Send a personal message to martiki  Email martiki Goto the website of martiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Tiki Bird
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Sep 25, 2003
Posts: 850
From: Cerritos, Ca.
Posted: 2004-11-30 12:33 pm   Permalink

Quote:

On 2004-11-29 19:02, martiki wrote:
Unrelated XBox question:

Can you get a regular PC style keyboard and 3 button mouse for the XBox?

I have tried and tried, but I just can't get used to the XBox stick for FPSs. I gotta get my mouselook on!



Im having the same problem as well, the keyboard & mouse combination is a faster & more accurate FPS gaming.

tbird.


 
View Profile of Tiki Bird Send a personal message to Tiki Bird  Email Tiki Bird     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
U-Moderate:
  
v1.5

[ About Tiki Central | Contact Tiki Central | Advertise on Tiki Central ]
(c) 2000-2014 Tikiroom.com (tm), Tiki Central (tm)

Credits & copyright infomation