FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Tiki Music Seeking Tiki Musicans who played in the 40s-60s Clubs
Seeking Tiki Musicans who played in the 40s-60s Clubs
Andy Volk

Posted: 2006-07-08 1:39 pm   Permalink

Aloha, my name is Andy Volk. I wrote the book Lap Steel Guitar (Centerstream) and I'm a contributing writer to Acoustic Guitar Magazine and Fretboard Journal. I'm working on an article about the music played in Tiki bars and Polynesian restaurants of the 40s - 60s. I'm interested in interviewing musicians who played at The Seven Seas, Don The Beachcombers, Trader Vic's, and other similar clubs around the country that specialized in the Polynesia of the imagination.

I'm also seeking hi-res photos from that era of restaurant interiors, menus, and especially - guitar, uke and steel guitar players. I'd greatly appreciate any help Tiki Central Forumites woould care to offer. And don't worry, I'll also be checking out the search function here. Thanks!

View Profile of Andy Volk Send a personal message to Andy Volk  Goto the website of Andy Volk     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Swanky
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2006-07-10 06:13 am   Permalink

I know just the person you need to talk to. Email me and I can get you in contact with an old timer who played all over the country. Summers in Florida and winters in New York, Chicago, etc.

Announcing Swank Pad and Crazy Al's Molokai Maiden!

View Profile of Swanky Send a personal message to Swanky  Email Swanky Goto the website of Swanky     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Tipsy McStagger
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2006-07-10 09:45 am   Permalink