Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Tiki Music Conga Corner
Conga Corner
VampiressRN
Grand Member (7 years)  

Posted: 2007-06-10 5:27 pm   Permalink

I posted pictures of my Congas in my Vibraphone thread, but wanted to open a thread specific to Congas. I am a novice but just fell in love with this beautiful set and expect to be able to do some basics in a couple of years (slow learner...too many projects).

Mondo Congas

My Congas are LP Matador Custom Accent Drums W/ Black Hardware. I have the Tropical Fusion finish on mine (I also ordered the matching Bongos). Yesterday I was graciously given a wonderful gift from danlovestikis, so wanted to share it here in case anyone is interested in catching a copy. It is a book called
CONGA DRUMMING A Beginners Guide to Playing with Time by Alan Dworsky and Betsy Sansby. The neat thing is that it has an instructional CD with it (which I know will be helpful to me). THANX Dan & Wendy.

[ This Message was edited by: VampiressRN 2007-06-13 20:25 ]

View Profile of VampiressRN Send a personal message to VampiressRN  Email VampiressRN Goto the website of VampiressRN     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Mouse Art
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2007-06-11 12:12 am   Permalink

.......Man! Vamp honey, those are VERY hip lookin! Yeah, congas iz fun. my 1st set was a pair of old blond,"Gon Bops". Now in the Agents, we've got a cool black set. Older fibes w/unusual skins. Wicked play to em. Have fun!..............Remy

View Profile of Mouse Art Send a personal message to Mouse Art  Goto the website of Mouse Art     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
congatiki
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2007-06-13 7:43 pm   Permalink

Well I just HAD to reply to this post. I love congas and other hand drums.
These are my two favorites