FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Other Crafts Heather Watts - Pg9 - Oasis Velvet Mini-Preview (more to come)
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next Page )
Heather Watts - Pg9 - Oasis Velvet Mini-Preview (more to come)
Travellin' Tiki
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2007-12-13 4:40 pm   Permalink

I got typing a reply in the marketplace thread and realized this post would be better suited for here. I've been meaning for a while to start up a new thread to show my work, something I can keep updating and adding to as my work develops over the next year.

There is something so magical and mysterious about automatons that for me they are a good fit with tiki. They have such an old-timey vintage quality which, as an artist, I find really fun to play with. I hope that the automaton imagery is a compliment to the overall exotic atmosphere of the painting. What I've tried to do is convey a "feeling" of tiki, a sort of nostalgia mixed with exoticism and a little bit of mischief.

Really I couldn't think of a better painting to start this thread with, because this was my first real leap back into tiki art after my non-tiki solo show in May 2007. The initial idea for on this painting was conceived of in May, but I painted this in the last weeks of August, just after tiki Oasis. It was painted (in acrylic on panel) specifically for the cover of Tiki Magazine and has been shrunk for the cover from it's original size of 11" x 14."

[ This Message was edited by: Travellin' Tiki 2008-11-28 20:43 ]

[ This Message was edited by: Travellin' Tiki 2008-12-01 18:51 ]

[ This Message was edited by: Travellin' Tiki 2008-12-14 20:49 ]

[ This Message was edited by: Travellin' Tiki 2008-12-23 12:59 ]