[Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Collecting Tiki Cool Tiki Lamp on Ebay
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
Cool Tiki Lamp on Ebay
HulaLula

Posted: 2003-02-21 1:56 pm   Permalink

[ This Message was edited by: hulalula on 2003-02-24 16:47 ]

View Profile of HulaLula Send a personal message to HulaLula      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
SugarCaddyDaddy
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2003-02-21 2:25 pm   Permalink

2 coconuts worth for you...

I've rewired lots of lamps. I am not a certified electrician, but understand basic electricity...isn't there some concern about the cord being "wrapped tediously with seagrass rope"? I'd hate to see a fellow TC'er (hec, anyone for that matter) have their house go up in flames from wrapping their lamp cord wrapped in rope in case it ever cracks or breaks in the future. Imagine a rope fire trailing up the cord and to the ceiling! Maybe I've got that Great White concert disaster on my mind.

Any thoughts from an actual qualified electrician?

ElectroCaddyDaddy

View Profile of SugarCaddyDaddy Send a personal message to SugarCaddyDaddy      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
HulaLula

Posted: 2003-02-21 2:45 pm   Permalink

my 2 coconuts...

Thanks for your concern.
To be honest, the creator is my boyfriend and has similar lamps hanging in his home already. The electrial components are all new items (cord is not flawed or broken to expose the wiring), and the grass (or rope) is merely wrapped around the cord and not up too close to the plug to catch "fire" from a potential stray spark when plugged in (which occassionaly happens when plugging in older electrical items, and not so much with a newer item).
But, I'll mention your concern to him...although rest assured the lamps he's made that are hanging in the house are fine and the house is still standing. =)