FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Collecting Tiki Barefoot Trader Polynesian/Tiki Stores
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
Barefoot Trader Polynesian/Tiki Stores
Dustycajun
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2008-03-26 6:02 pm   Permalink

I have been collecting Tiki (mainly postcards) for several years now and am finally getting around to posting on Tiki Central. I recently acquired two postcards from the Barefoot Trader stores - one located in W. Yarmouth Cape Cod, Maine and one located in Pompano Beach, Florida. I also found some pictures from a brochure and an old photo from the W. Yarmouth store.

Here are postcards

Here are the brochure images

The Barefoot Trader stores specialized in unique gifts from around the world set in a Polynesian themed atmosphere. The buildings had great Tiki/Polynesian pop architecture. The store in Cape Cod also had a moai statute in front with a flame coming out of the top of the head - you can see the statue in the old photo. One of the trademarks of the stores were barefoot footprints set in the concrete leading you to the front door.

I read that the W. Yarmouth store had been torn down and is now a factory outlet center. I don't know about the building in Pompano Beach. Does anybody know if there were any more of these stores?

View Profile of Dustycajun Send a personal message to Dustycajun      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Bora Boris
Mr. Unreasonable

Posted: 2008-03-26 7:15 pm   Permalink

I can't answer your questions Dusty Cajun but as far as first posts go, yours is one of the All Time Greats.

Thanks for sharing your cool stuff.

View Profile of Bora Boris Send a personal message to Bora Boris      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
bigbrotiki
Tiki Socialite