FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Tiki Carving Kountzyro Shows off his Polystyrene Tikis
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
Kountzyro Shows off his Polystyrene Tikis
kountzyro
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2008-07-02 2:31 pm   Permalink

Hello

This thread will showcase some of my sculptural creations. I work as a scenic artist building displays, props, and scenery for a variety of clients from museums, to department stores, restaurants and theme parks. So I have some access to materials to create some side-projects for myself. Here then, over the next few posts, are a few that I've built beginning with "Stoney":

Stoney is 11" tall, carved from white bead-foam, coated with a stippled and sanded application of Roscoe "Foamcoat", and painted with various layers of dry brush and wash techniques to give him a rough granite like appearance.

[ This Message was edited by: kountzyro 2009-12-27 20:16 ]

[ This Message was edited by: kountzyro 2012-05-11 22:27 ]

View Profile of kountzyro Send a personal message to kountzyro      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
kountzyro
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2008-07-02 2:41 pm   Permalink

This is Woody:

Woody is 8 1/2" tall, constructed in the same fashion as Stoney, except for a smooth finish. He is give
a faux wood-grain look - natch!

View Profile of kountzyro Send a personal message to kountzyro      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Paipo
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2008-07-02 2:46 pm   Permalink

Welcome to TC! Stoney looks great - I love the Hawaii / Rapa Nui stylistic crossover you've got going on.

View Profile of Paipo Send a personal message to Paipo  Goto the website of Paipo     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
kountzyro
Tiki Centralite