advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Tiki Carving Gravers vs. Rotary Tools
Gravers vs. Rotary Tools
AZpaniolo

Posted: 2009-02-13 2:24 pm   Permalink

I've been bone carving for about 9 months now, mostly Hawaiian hooks. I'm working up the courage to start adding some detail to the carvings and was wondering -- among experienced carvers, is there a preference for manual gravers versus rotary tools with engraving burrs to create detail on your carvings? I did a search on gravers and rotary tools together and found very little in the archives so I hope I'm not dredging up an old topic. Keep in mind that I'm just a hobbyist and my skill level is very basic but I am an enthusiastic learner. I'd appreciate the advice of anyone who has ever been where I'm at in terms of experience.

View Profile of AZpaniolo Send a personal message to AZpaniolo      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Paipo
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2009-02-13 2:37 pm   Permalink

AZ, if you google "Carving Path" and search their forums, you will find oodles of info about gravers, specifically the ones described in the "Bone Carving: A Skillbase of Techniques and Concepts" book. There are even videos of them in use, and advice on how to manufacture them. I haven't seen much mention of gravers here on TC, perhaps with the exception of Sebastian's work.