FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT


advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Beyond Tiki Bamboo Torch Lamps - Electrical Question
Bamboo Torch Lamps - Electrical Question
PolynesianPop
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 25, 2002
Posts: 2368
From: Corona, Ca
Posted: 2003-04-15 2:46 pm   Permalink

I'm currently converting a set of bamboo torch lamps to hold flickering flame bulbs. I don't want to create any fire hazards so two questions:

1. I'm thinking of running small diameter pvc piping on the inside of the torch for the electrical wire. Anyone try this before? How hard is it to get it past each "rib" on the inside of the bamboo?

2. I want to "daisy-chain" the electricals on each torch so that I can have them all turn on/off with 1 switch. Anyone here have any experience splicing electrical? Is it just a matter of joining positive with positive and negative with negative using wire nuts? Or should I use a junction box?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.


_________________

Poly-Pop *



[ This Message was edited by: PolynesianPop on 2003-04-15 14:48 ]


 
View Profile of PolynesianPop Send a personal message to PolynesianPop  Email PolynesianPop Goto the website of PolynesianPop     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Traderpup
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 26, 2002
Posts: 1049
From: Long Beach, CA
Posted: 2003-04-15 3:18 pm   Permalink

Are these torches for indoor lighting?

I'd probably wire each one on a separate cord, and plug them all into a power strip, rather than daisy chain them. That way, you'll always have individual torches, and not be limited to a set that are all wired together, should you ever want to move or rearrange the layout.

As far as running the wire thru the poles, I would probably split the torches with a large blade knife, run the wire up one half, notching the knuckle joints as needed, and glue the halves back together. A little wood glue would hold the seam stronger than before it was split. And since it was split rather than cut, the seams will fit back together perfectly. You could always add decorative reinforcement rings to the poles too, with cane binding or woven edging like they have available at OA.



 
View Profile of Traderpup Send a personal message to Traderpup  Email Traderpup Goto the website of Traderpup     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Luckydesigns
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Sep 15, 2002
Posts: 2166
From: Costa Mesa
Posted: 2003-04-15 3:19 pm   Permalink

I made a set of these and I don't think the PVC is all that necessary. If the insulation on your wire is good, then there isn't anything to worry about. The ribs are a pain in the ass. I got a super long drill bit extension to drill through them.

The boys over at your local Home Depot or Ace Hardware could answer your question about the electric situation. My solution for what you are wanting to do was wire them all individually and use a surge protector to switch them all on/ off at the same time. If your torch placement is going to be perminent then your idea is the best. You never know when you are going to want to move them around.

Good luck Pop.
_________________
Spike
www.facebook.com/thehulagirls
www.thehulagirlsmusic.com



 
View Profile of Luckydesigns Send a personal message to Luckydesigns  Email Luckydesigns Goto the website of Luckydesigns     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Luckydesigns
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Sep 15, 2002
Posts: 2166
From: Costa Mesa
Posted: 2003-04-15 3:20 pm   Permalink

Pup, you beat me to the post.
_________________
Spike
www.facebook.com/thehulagirls
www.thehulagirlsmusic.com



 
View Profile of Luckydesigns Send a personal message to Luckydesigns  Email Luckydesigns Goto the website of Luckydesigns     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
PolynesianPop
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 25, 2002
Posts: 2368
From: Corona, Ca
Posted: 2003-04-15 3:45 pm   Permalink

The power strip solution crossed my mind but I was actually looking at running them all off of one switch that's similar to a lamp switch.

For example, if I (hypothetically) flanked a tiki bar with these torches and I wanted to hit a switch under the bar to turn them on at the same time, can I just splice the wiring together? I don't want to mount a power strip to the bar because of the chance that liquids could spill into its outlets. Plus, the bar is (hypothetically) being built to be collapsible and thus will fold down flat.

Ideally, the torches would be attached to the bar after it is setup and one switch turns it all on once its plugged in.


_________________

Poly-Pop *



[ This Message was edited by: PolynesianPop on 2003-04-15 15:45 ]


 
View Profile of PolynesianPop Send a personal message to PolynesianPop  Email PolynesianPop Goto the website of PolynesianPop     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Traderpup
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 26, 2002
Posts: 1049
From: Long Beach, CA
Posted: 2003-04-15 4:15 pm   Permalink

Geez, Pop!

How much splashing around of the liquids to you expect inside the bar? If the power strip was mounted on the underside of the bar top, or on the sides, liquid spillage shouldn't be an issue. Plus, most power strips are surge protected, so risk of that would be minimized. And, it would provide additional outlets for a blender, extra lighting, etc.

Many power strips have mounting notches that would allow the strip to slide on and off screw heads, making it removable if needed. They most all have on/off switches to allow you to turn on all your lights from one switch.

if the bar is intented to fold flat, then I'd assume the torches would need to be removable, else it wouldn't fold all that flat, which means the added bulk of the power strip really shouldn't be much of an issue.

As far as the wiring goes, you can splice your fixtures in union, as long as the total of all fixtures does not exceed the wattage/amp rating of the wiring you are using. Any splices should be contained in a junction box or other enclosure (such as the lamp socket housing). But if you're concerned about liquid getting on the power strip, I'd be far more concerned about the splicing getting wet, as you would no longer have the added benefit of the surge protection of the power strip. If you use a junction box, it would take up as much depth as a power strip anyway.

Bottom line is, don't mess with electrical wiring if you don't have the confidence or know-how to do it. Last thing you want is to have your new portable bar go up in a blaze of glory, or have Al get electrocuted as he gives your bar a tryout!



 
View Profile of Traderpup Send a personal message to Traderpup  Email Traderpup Goto the website of Traderpup     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
PolynesianPop
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 25, 2002
Posts: 2368
From: Corona, Ca
Posted: 2003-04-15 5:04 pm   Permalink

Quote:

On 2003-04-15 16:15, Traderpup wrote:
Geez, Pop!

How much splashing around of the liquids to you expect inside the bar?






Depends - Sometimes, the flame throwin' bottle juggler comes out in me when I feel like showing off!

Anyways, you make a lot of sense. Thanks Pup and Lucky-D for the info.

Now, off to finish construction....


_________________

Poly-Pop *



Bartender, make mine a glass of WATAHHH!!!!!


 
View Profile of PolynesianPop Send a personal message to PolynesianPop  Email PolynesianPop Goto the website of PolynesianPop     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
woofmutt
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 26, 2002
Posts: 2599
From: Seattilite Telstar
Posted: 2003-04-16 12:09 am   Permalink

You can avoid a lot of liquid spilling problems by putting the lid on the shaker before shaking the cocktail. As for drilling out the bamboo...Unless you're making these to sell, it's kind of overthinking the details. A lamp chord running from the base of the torch down the pole isn't going to be noticed by anyone but you since you guests should be dazzled nearly blind by the wild fabulocity of your Tiki event. But if you have many hours to kill, drill away. You could even train some sort of boring beetle to do the work.

 
View Profile of woofmutt Send a personal message to woofmutt  Email woofmutt Goto the website of woofmutt     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
RevBambooBen
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Nov 12, 2002
Posts: 7439
From: Huntikington Beach
Posted: 2003-04-16 09:02 am   Permalink

PP, whats a "rib'? (Kelbos?)

TP, knucle joint? (Sams "happy hour" ribs)

LD, Ribs? (with bbq sauce? Chilies ad)

NODE!!!! it's called a node!! and, the middle part is called a "culm".(Node=knot. Culm=column)

Re-bar!!!! It was made for this! Trust me. If you don't want to buy a piece, just go to a Depot or, and they always have it laying on the side and just do it. Tell them you work there!(or tell them to F.O.!!! An-I-Mal!!!))





 
View Profile of RevBambooBen Send a personal message to RevBambooBen  Email RevBambooBen Goto the website of RevBambooBen     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
SugarCaddyDaddy
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 03, 2002
Posts: 1500
From: Huntington Beach, California
Posted: 2003-04-16 09:19 am   Permalink

Yup! Just like Da Bam Man says, just put rebar through the end and *tap* *tap* *tap* (sometimes *bam* *bam* *bam* or *slam* *slam* *slam*) and you've got a cleaned out rib-knuckle-node-culm-expialidocious!

Switchin'ToDecafCaddyDaddy
_________________


 
View Profile of SugarCaddyDaddy Send a personal message to SugarCaddyDaddy      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
PolynesianPop
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 25, 2002
Posts: 2368
From: Corona, Ca
Posted: 2003-04-16 10:13 am   Permalink

BB, thanks for the tip! Now I just gotta find a Home Depot that "carries" rebar for the taking so I can knock out those RIBS.

BTW - if I remove those RIBS on the inside, will it make the bamboo weaker?


_________________

Poly-Pop *



Bartender, make mine a glass of WATAHHH!!!!!


 
View Profile of PolynesianPop Send a personal message to PolynesianPop  Email PolynesianPop Goto the website of PolynesianPop     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Traderpup
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 26, 2002
Posts: 1049
From: Long Beach, CA
Posted: 2003-04-16 10:48 am   Permalink

Quote:

On 2003-04-16 09:02, RevBambooBen wrote:
PP, whats a "rib'? (Kelbos?)

TP, knucle joint? (Sams "happy hour" ribs)

LD, Ribs? (with bbq sauce? Chilies ad)



Rev.Ben--

Isn't it obvious we are all hungry for a bit of exotica fine dining?

Mmmmm.... Sam's for happy hour and beyond... might have to satisfy my craving this Saturday, I don't have to be up too early for Easter Sunday...... and everybody else will probably be in Las Vegas, so might as well have a Mondo Tiki tribute for those of us less fortunate to go.....


 
View Profile of Traderpup Send a personal message to Traderpup  Email Traderpup Goto the website of Traderpup     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Tiki King
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 13, 2002
Posts: 548
From: Lush tropical Santa Cruz, CA.
Posted: 2003-04-17 5:31 pm   Permalink

I have a slew of them in the 821. One problem with running them all on the same cord is that (at least with mine)they dont flicker as well after about the forth one. as far as the insulation, the insulation on the wire should be fine as long as there is nothing sharp in the path. I used both the old "can" style and the newer style torches. The only place to worry about is where the wire goes into the can.
_________________
_________________
www.tikiking.com Since 1994! Neat Tiki and Ukulele Stuff
www.ukulelesoffelton.com Our Retail store. Come Visit!


 View Profile of Tiki King Send a personal message to Tiki King  Email Tiki King Goto the website of Tiki King     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
dogbytes
Grand Member (8 years)  

Joined: Mar 24, 2002
Posts: 2242
From: seattle, wa
Posted: 2004-06-03 9:08 pm   Permalink

i found battery-operated, flickering light candles that work well in Tiki Torches ~ added bonuses: not having to bonk out the nodes, run wires or plug it in! the flame isnt as nice as a real bulb..but have another mai tai, and it looks just fine!

small candles


there are other battery powered candles at Service Lighting]9" candles


[ This Message was edited by: dogbytes on 2004-06-03 21:09 ]


 View Profile of dogbytes Send a personal message to dogbytes  Email dogbytes Goto the website of dogbytes     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
U-Moderate:
  
v1.5

[ About Tiki Central | Contact Tiki Central | Advertise on Tiki Central ]
(c) 2000-2014 Tikiroom.com (tm), Tiki Central (tm)

Credits & copyright infomation