FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Tiki Carving My First Carving or What I spent my night doing.
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
My First Carving or What I spent my night doing.
nicholauslee
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2009-11-19 12:07 am   Permalink

I decided to try my hand at carving finally, this is my first attempt at wood carving in general.
I also decided that for the first carving I wanted to use only hand tools.

So I cut down a try using nothing but some handsaws and a couple hatchets... and it took way too long.

Then tonight, I started carving away, this is what I have so far.

Obviously it's just the beginning of a long task.

I already learned one thing, and that is I need to learn more about trees and the types of woods.
My dad tells me this is an Ash tree, and that it's a very hard wood... at this point, I have no reason to not believe him...

View Profile of nicholauslee Send a personal message to nicholauslee  Goto the website of nicholauslee     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Customkiis
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2009-11-19 09:06 am   Permalink

That is too funny about the Ash. Yes, it is going to be horrors on your arms and tools, but it might out live you. . You might want to cut it in half and just finish the bottom that you started. Let the top portion cure somewhere out of the weather.