FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Other Crafts Roots Rocka's Clay Journal - New Stuff pg 11
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 Next Page )
Roots Rocka's Clay Journal - New Stuff pg 11
TikiRootsRocka
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2011-11-01 1:24 pm   Permalink

Here it goes!!!
I took my first ceramics class over the summer and here's what I came up with.
These were all made with soldate 60 clay.
I'm an absolute beginner, so I'm using this as a journal to keep notes and document my progress.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

gloss white - 1) dripped on 2) dipped 3) brush streaks
You can't really see as much difference between the area where the drips and streaks are, as I would have liked.

topknot - bray shino - 2 dips
body - matte black - 3 dips
I think 3 dips on the body was a little too much. The edges take on a really dark brown and the black looks charcoally. Maybe better for a volcano. This was my melting Moai, but, he looks like a depressed little Moai after glazing. I was actually tearing apart what I had created up to this point. A few seconds into ripping into it, I said to myself, "hey, he looks like he's melting, keep him."

clear H51 - 2 dips
I like how this glaze turned out. I held it by the feet and the glaze dripped off the topknot and left a little bit of a thicker layer and is more gray than the rest. Also, the bottom area where I held it needed to be touched up a bit and also has more gray. This is my favorite so far!

Thanks to everyone for the inspiration and suggestions!

I might've never picked up this hobby if it wasn't for TC!

My second ceramics class just started, and I'm hooked.