FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Tiki Carving Cord and Lashing Material for Bone Pendants
Cord and Lashing Material for Bone Pendants
fshaw

Posted: 2012-12-19 1:15 pm   Permalink

I have a bone hook that came from Hawaii a number of years ago. I want to replace the cord before it breaks and can't find a source for the tan spiral woven cord that my hook shares with the cords shown on most Hawaiian carvings. I believe my hook was carved by Milton Matia. I can't find a web link to him either. I am a high school teacher in NY and have two senior students that have asked me to mentor them in their senior project which they want to do on bone carving. Could you help me out in locating a source where I can purchase a spool of cord and of the single stranded lashing material?

Thank you in advance and happy holidays.

Frank

View Profile of fshaw Send a personal message to fshaw      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
AlohaStation
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2012-12-20 08:51 am   Permalink

If you are going to make it a complete project - lashing is as important as the pendant. You can search the interwebs for Sinew (artifical sinew is the most common) and the weaving techniques that go with it. Lots of resources!

View Profile of AlohaStation Send a personal message to AlohaStation  Goto the website of AlohaStation     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
fshaw

Posted: 2012-12-20 09:35 am   Permalink