FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Collecting Tiki Do you know who made this Tiki?
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
Do you know who made this Tiki?
carlsharp

Posted: 2014-01-28 11:11 am   Permalink

Hello I'm new to tiki culture so I do not yet recognise the look or style of individual artists. I recently found this on Cragslist and was wondering if anyone has any ideas as to the origin.
Thanks for the help..

View Profile of carlsharp Send a personal message to carlsharp      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
JOHN-O
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2014-01-28 11:31 am   Permalink

A Wayne Coombs knock-off who popularized the dreaded "Grinning Tooth / Pineapple Head" style.

Is it listed in Florida ?

[ This Message was edited by: JOHN-O 2014-01-28 11:33 ]

View Profile of JOHN-O Send a personal message to JOHN-O      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Mr. NoNaMe
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2014-01-28 2:45 pm   Permalink

It looks like the mass produced tikis that were available at home improvement stores about five or so years ago.
Homedepot shows one online (discontinued) that is from Backyard Xscapes.
Likely made in Indonesia.

View Profile of Mr. NoNaMe Send a personal message to Mr. NoNaMe      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Mr. NoNaMe
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2014-01-28 2:48 pm   Permalink

Also, it probably arrived in the states with a couple hundred twins. Not identical.

View Profile of Mr. NoNaMe Send a personal message to Mr. NoNaMe      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Atomic Tiki Punk
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2014-01-28 3:49 pm   Permalink

Eric is right, so we will just say "HomeDepot"
instead of the nameless slave carvers of Indonesia...