[Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums » » Collecting Tiki » » Aloha - new to the Tiki culture
Aloha - new to the Tiki culture
Cool Manchu
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2003-08-03 2:19 pm   Permalink

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Tiki culture and have the bug pretty good now. I started collecting about 3 months ago and have learned a little bit here and there. Im up to 30 mugs/bowls etc now and was wondering if anyone could point me towards a good book that talks about collecting Tiki.

I am aware of Sven A. Kirsten's Book of Tiki already and know all about eBay. But a true price guide/information book seems to elude me.

Thank you one and all!
Cool Manchu

View Profile of Cool Manchu Send a personal message to Cool Manchu  Email Cool Manchu     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Cool Manchu
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2003-08-03 2:24 pm   Permalink

Another question for you Tiki Gods.

Does anyone know who Bill Coleman is/was?

The reason I ask is that I was fortunate enough to pick up a 1st printing hardback of Trader Vic's Book of Food and Drink (1946) for two bucks. When I brought it home, it was signed not only by Trader Vic himself in 1964, but by someone named Bill Coleman.

Could Mr. Coleman just be a person who gave the book to another and signed it? Could he have been the manager of one of the many Trader Vic restaurants?

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks!
Cool Manchu

View Profile of Cool Manchu Send a personal message to Cool Manchu  Email Cool Manchu     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Kailuageoff
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2003-08-04 1:28 pm   Permalink

Maybe he went camping with Trader Vic...
and welcome to Tiki Central.

View Profile of Kailuageoff Send a personal message to Kailuageoff  Email Kailuageoff     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Suburban Hipster
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2003-08-04 1:49 pm   Permalink