advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums » » Tiki Music » » Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge 8-16-17 Surfs Up!
Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge 8-16-17 Surfs Up!
Dr. Zarkov
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 07, 2008
Posts: 589
Posted: 2017-08-16 2:53 pm   Permalink

Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge Playlist: August 16, 2017

On this week’s Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge radio show we explored the wet and wild world of surfing, a sport created by the Polynesians more than a thousand years ago and first marveled at by Europeans from their 18th century exploration of Tahiti and Hawaii.

Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge is broadcast every Wednesday, 5-6 pm Eastern Time (2-3 pm on the West Coast) at
www.radiofairfax.org. The show is broadcast live; no recorded shows are archived, but some listeners choose to record it on their computers to listen later. Radio Fairfax also can be heard on Tune In Radio at tunein.com, and streamed on smartphones by downloading the Tunein app. It also can be streamed on Roku and Google TV at: http://tinyurl.com/3uqfsz9

1) “Hawaiian Surfriding” was waxed by the Quebecois musicians Le Mai Tai Orchestra on their acquisitional album: I Found My Wahine, directed under the baton of Sir Christopher McLaren.

2) “Kon-Tiki” was composed by Michael Carr and recorded in 1961 by The Shadows, a British group whose electric guitar stylings were influential on American musicians, including those in the Southern California surf guitar scene. This came from the ample anthology: Sven A. Kirsten Presents: The Sound of Tiki.

3) Dick Dale’s “Let's Go Trippin'” is credited as the first surf music recording, released in September 1961, two months before the Beach Boys’ tune: “Surfin’ and can be found on the regal retrospective: King of the Surf Guitar: The Best of Dick Dale & His Del-Tones.

4) The surf classic “Pipeline” released in 1962 by The Chantays, who originally called the song "Liberty's Whip" and renamed it after the band members saw a surfing movie showing scenes of the Banzai Pipeline off Ehukai Beach Park in Pupukea on O'ahu's north shore. This was taken from the caffeinated compact disc: Big Waves – Five Decades of Surf Rock.

5) Also from 1962 is “The Gremmie Part 1,” which was created by The Tornadoes and can be found on the historical document: Lost Legends of Surf Guitar, Volume 2, Point Panic!

6) “A Most Excellent Flying Death” appears on the 2009 self-titled album by the Houston-based group Clouseaux, including Kelly Doyle on Electric Guitar, David Cummings on Hammond B-3 Organ, Jay Brooks on Electric Bass Guitar and Claudio De Pujadas on Drums.

7) “Tiki,” the song by F.H West, was performed by the Metrolites on their inquisitive CD: In Spy-Fi, with Nervous Neal Smith on Tenor Sax, Kathleen Gallagher on Electric Guitar, “MalletKat” on Electronic Vibes, Devin Kirby-Hansen on Electric Bass and Josh Duffee on Drums.

8) “Russian Roulette” was recorded by Blue Stingrays on their surreptitious CD: Surf-N-Burn. The band publicity makes it sound like it comes from an earlier era but is really made up of members of Tom Petty’s backup band, The Heartbreakers.

9) “Mission Impossible,” the Television series theme composed by Lalo Shiffrin, laid down by Laika & The Cosmonauts and drawn with tongs from the copious collection: Surf Guitar Greats – One Dozen Surf-Rock Instrumentals.

10) “One Mint Julep,” the classic song written by Rudy Toombs that was a hit for The Clovers in 1951, drawn with swizzle sticks from the succulent CD: The Tiki Tones Play Songs for the Suburban Savage, spotlighting the talents of Koro on Drums, Ku on Electric Bass, Lono on Electric Guitar and Lord Wahini on Organ.

11) “Ballad of Cowboyaredee” was laid down by Eliot Easton’s Tiki Gods for their spaghettiized spectacular: Easton Island, with whistling by Todd Heinrich, Debbie Shair on the wordless Vocal, Eliot Easton (who is a member of the band The Cars) on Electric Guitar, Chris Reccardi on Bass and Michael D’Amico on Drums.

12) “The Jewel of Duende” was recorded by the 1990s Washington DC-based surf band, The Space Cossacks on their gemlike production: Never Mind the Bolsheviks: The Best Of... The band was Ivan Pangoric Jr. on Electric Guitar, Mark English on Rhythm Electric Guitar, Catherine Gray on Electric Bass and Doug Hoekstra on Drums.

13) “Holly Tiki” comes from The Aqua Velvets smooth CD: Nomad, featuring Miles Corbin and Hank Maninger on Electric Guitars, Michael Lindner on Bass, and Donn Spindt on Drums.

14) “Codename Gypsy” was laid down by Atlanta’s own surf band, The Penetrators, and was retrieved from the combative compilation: War of the Surf Guitars!

15) “Little Stinky Kitty” was righteously rendered by The Mermen on their incomparable compact disc: The Amazing California Health and Happiness Road Show, with Jim Thomas on Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Allen Whitman on Electric Bass and Martyn Jones on Drums.

16) “The Ringer,” which was recorded by the band Wires in the Walls on their 2011 surfalicious CD: New Symmetry, with Warren Sroka on Vocals, Dave Irelan on Electric Guitar, Dave Sicher on Keyboards, Nick Tracz on Bass and Bryan King on Drums.

 View Profile of Dr. Zarkov Send a personal message to Dr. Zarkov  Email Dr. Zarkov     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote

[ About Tiki Central | Contact Tiki Central | Advertise on Tiki Central ]
(c) 2000-2018 Tikiroom.com (tm), Tiki Central (tm)

Credits & copyright infomation