advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums » » Tiki Music » » Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge 8-30-17 Burning Man
Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge 8-30-17 Burning Man
Dr. Zarkov
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 07, 2008
Posts: 589
Posted: 2017-08-30 3:52 pm   Permalink

Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge Playlist: August 30, 2017

On this week’s Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge radio show we are going to take a brief but determined detour from Tiki music to mark the burning man festival, taking place this week in the Black Rock Desert of Nevada. Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge was born in flames at the 2002 festival on Radio Free Burning Man. It has continued to be heard there intermittently ever since then, visited the Edinburgh Fringe Festival one year, and has been emphatically ensconced in its permanent home on Radio Fairfax since 2009.

Dr. Zarkov’s Tiki Lounge is broadcast every Wednesday, 5-6 pm Eastern Time (2-3 pm on the West Coast) at
www.radiofairfax.org. The show is broadcast live; no recorded shows are archived, but some listeners choose to record it on their computers to listen later. Radio Fairfax also can be heard on Tune In Radio at tunein.com, and streamed on smartphones by downloading the Tunein app. It also can be streamed on Roku and Google TV at: http://tinyurl.com/3uqfsz9

1) “Haleakala Hula,” the song by Amy Kalima, refers to Haleakala, the “House of the Sun” volcano on Maui, recorded in the late 1940s by Lila Kaualoku Guerrero Replinger with other musicians from the Hawaii Calls radio show, including David Kei’i on Steel Guitar, John “Squeeze” Kamana on Ukulele, Andy and Simeon Bright on Acoustic Guitars & Frank “Mystery” Crockett on Bass, and backing vocals by The Waikiki Girls, who were Marion Kanekapolei Guerrero Diamond and Eloise Gasper Hoit, along with Ms. Replinger. This was taken from the historical document: Aloha Hula Hawaiian Style.

2) “Syldave et Bordure!” was performed by the hot French combination, Les Primitifs du Futur on their sumptuous CD: Tribal Mussette, featuring Jean-Philippe Viret on Bowed Bass and Jean-Daniel Jouannic on Slapped Bass, with Daniel Colin on Accordion, Jean-Michel Davis on Xylophone, Glockenspiel, Acoustic Guitars and Fay Lovsky on Theremin.

3) “Where There's Smoke There's Fire” was the name of the song and the 1990 album by Buckwheat Zydeco, who wields the Accordion while Melvin Veazie is on Electric Guitar; Dennis Taylor on Tenor Sax, Steve Berlin on Baritone Sax, Lee Allen Zeno on Bass, Kevin Menard on Drums and Wilbert Willis on Rubboard.

4) The unjustly forgotten R&B singer Sugar Pie DeSanto waxed “Witch for a Night” in the early 1960s and it was drawn with tongs from her fond look back: Go Go Power – The Complete Chess Singles, 1961-1966.

5) “Orange Colored Sky,” the 1950 song by Milton DeLugg and Willie Stein that had been introduced by Nat King Cole, was rendered in this 1958 recording found on the creepsome collection: Voodoo Jive: The Best of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, and spotlights the talents of the Ray Charles Singers on mixed backing vocals.

6) The classic Bob Dylan and Rick Danko composition “This Wheel's on Fire” was performed by Siouxsie & The Banshees on their 1990 album of cover songs: Through the Looking Glass, with Siouxsie Sioux on Vocals, John Carruthers on Electric Guitar, Marty McCarrick on Keyboards, Steven Severin on Bass and Budgie on Drums and Percussion.

7) Marshall Crenshaw’s song “You Should've Been There” was taken from his 1989 album titled: Good Evening.

8) “Hip Length” came from the 1999 production called The Now Sound of Ursula 1000, which consisted mainly of composer Alex Gimeno on most instruments.

9) “I Melt With You,” the older Modern English song was performed by Nouvelle Vague on their self-titled debonair debut, sung by Silja. This French conglomeration led by musicians Marc Collin and Olivier Libaux largely featured female models on vocals who didn’t know English or understand what they were singing.

10) “The Volcano Song” was comes from another self-titled debut CD by the The Budos Band. Described as “the quintessence of Staten Island Soul,” the conglomeration on this cut features Mike Deller on Organ, Andrew Greene on Trumpet and Duke Amayo and Bosco Mann on Congas.

11) “Tiki Fiesta,” performed by the Mexican group called Plastilina Mosh was drawn with swizzle sticks from the apt anthology: Pottery Barn Tiki Rhythms.

12) “Higgins Theme” by Oleg Kostrow and is derived from the creative compilation: Russkie Wig-Out! Surf/Electro/Exotica From Behind the Iron Curtain.

13) “Ennui” was recorded in 2001 for another self-titled CD from the Houston band Clouseaux, who include Steffany Johnston and Tomas Escalante on Vocals, David Cummings on Organ and Bass, Kelly Doyle on Electric Guitar, Steve Ruth on Trumpet and Percussion; Claudio De Pujadas on Drums and Percussion; and Ryan Gabbart on Trombone and Percussion.

14) “Firelight” is drawn with tongs from the Thievery Corporation’s incomparable compact disc: Saudade, featuring Lou Lou Ghelichkhani on Vocal.

 View Profile of Dr. Zarkov Send a personal message to Dr. Zarkov  Email Dr. Zarkov     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote

[ About Tiki Central | Contact Tiki Central | Advertise on Tiki Central ]
(c) 2000-2018 Tikiroom.com (tm), Tiki Central (tm)

Credits & copyright infomation