Tiki Central Forums General Tiki James Michener
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
James Michener
Trader Woody
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2002-07-31 01:48 am   Permalink

Is James Michener the forgotten man of Tiki? It just struck me that Michener
is hardly mentioned at all on Tiki Central despite being one of the key people
responsible for conveying the exotic Pacific lifestyle to the wider world.
There's a chapter devoted to him in 'The Book', but there is little discussion
of his works outside that. Has anyone read his stuff? Seen the adaptations?

I'm no expert, as I've only read Hawaii, a copy of which was kindly given to
me by Tiki Chris. There's a copy of Tales of the South Pacific sitting unread
on my shelf, and a copy of James Michener's Hawaii album in my collection,
but that's it.

Anyone more familiar with his works? Does he deserve to be placed with
the Greats of Tiki? Or have too many people been scarred for life by watching
South Pacific being performed by their local drama group?

Trader Woody

[ This Message was edited by: Trader Woody on 2002-07-31 01:48 ]

View Profile of Trader Woody Send a personal message to Trader Woody  Email Trader Woody     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
kongtiki
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2002-07-31 07:47 am   Permalink

"Rascals in Paradise" by Michener and A. Grove Day is also a pleasant accounting of white men let loose in the South Pacific...worth a read if you haven't...

View Profile of kongtiki Send a personal message to kongtiki  Goto the website of kongtiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Kailuageoff
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2002-07-31 11:09 am   Permalink