FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT


advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Beyond Tiki Audio Software Help Needed - Please!!!!!!!!!
Audio Software Help Needed - Please!!!!!!!!!
johntiki
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 31, 2002
Posts: 1525
From: MD
Posted: 2004-03-30 4:49 pm   Permalink

Here's the situation - I need to make a CD that has sound effects on one channel and sound cues that will activate a light display on the other - is there software available that will do this? All day long I've been reading the detailed descriptions of what various software is capable of but none seem to answer my question, or if they do, the "tech-talk" is over my head...plain and simple I want 2 seperate tracks on one CD at the same time, audible only on seperate channels!

Please help me out - Trying to figure out a way to accomplish this task is driving me insane!!!
_________________


 
View Profile of johntiki Send a personal message to johntiki  Goto the website of johntiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
tiki mick
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Aug 11, 2003
Posts: 398
From: Socal
Posted: 2004-03-30 5:17 pm   Permalink

Sounds to me like you need a digital/virtual recording studio, like pro-tools...

There are easier, very simple ones available at places like Mars music, Guitar center, sam ash, musician's friend..these are very simple 4 and 8 tracks, much easier to use then pro-tools

Basically, if I understand correct, you would need to input your sounds onto the computer via an interface (the most expensive item for home recording) then pan the sounds hard right and hard left..then burn your CD!

Mostly, when you buy the interface, they come with the recording software already.


 
View Profile of tiki mick Send a personal message to tiki mick      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
thejab
Grand Member (first year)  

Joined: Mar 25, 2002
Posts: 2986
From: Tradewinds Apartments, Alameda, CA
Posted: 2004-03-30 5:24 pm   Permalink

This Macintosh OS X program may do it:

http://www.felttip.com/products/soundstudio/

It's $50.


 View Profile of thejab Send a personal message to thejab  Goto the website of thejab     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
johntiki
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 31, 2002
Posts: 1525
From: MD
Posted: 2004-03-30 6:01 pm   Permalink

Quote:

On 2004-03-30 17:17, tiki mick wrote:

Basically, if I understand correct, you would need to input your sounds onto the computer via an interface (the most expensive item for home recording) then pan the sounds hard right and hard left..then burn your CD!




Is there any way to do this without spending a lot of money? Because I'm at work I can't experiment but, if I use the standard audio card input and plug in only one of the RCA plugs (say the right channel's cable) will it isolate all audio onto that one channel or will it automatically place sound on both left and right channels? I'm thinking about just abandoning the CD idea and using two CD players...but then I'll have a problem synching them up! Aggghhhh!!!!!!!!!!!


_________________


 
View Profile of johntiki Send a personal message to johntiki  Goto the website of johntiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Traderpup
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 26, 2002
Posts: 1049
From: Long Beach, CA
Posted: 2004-03-30 6:54 pm   Permalink

Shareware Music Machine Dot Com

This site has loads of software for mixing and sound editing......



 View Profile of Traderpup Send a personal message to Traderpup  Email Traderpup Goto the website of Traderpup     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Unga Bunga
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 06, 2003
Posts: 5808
From: CaliTikifornia
Posted: 2004-03-30 8:53 pm   Permalink

Quote:

On 2004-03-30 17:17, tiki mick wrote:
Sounds to me like you need a digital/virtual recording studio, like pro-tools...

There are easier, very simple ones available at places like Mars music, Guitar center, sam ash, musician's friend..these are very simple 4 and 8 tracks, much easier to use then pro-tools

Basically, if I understand correct, you would need to input your sounds onto the computer via an interface (the most expensive item for home recording) then pan the sounds hard right and hard left..then burn your CD!

Mostly, when you buy the interface, they come with the recording software already.


I have been sold and working with Pro Tools for many years now. For a middle class quality of funds; P.T. is a great choice!

Unga


 
View Profile of Unga Bunga Send a personal message to Unga Bunga      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Swanky
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Apr 03, 2002
Posts: 5011
From: Hapa Haole Hideaway, TN
Posted: 2004-03-30 9:11 pm   Permalink

Should be easy. SoundForge does it. I would think any editor will do it. I am not sure what you are saying that is difficult. What editor do you have? What burning software do you have? Nero editor will do it. Am I understanding you? You want two entirely different tracks on the left and right channels?

PM me and I can maybe send you something that'll do it on a Windows PC.
_________________

Announcing Swank Pad and Crazy Al's Molokai Maiden!


 View Profile of Swanky Send a personal message to Swanky  Email Swanky Goto the website of Swanky     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
johntiki
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 31, 2002
Posts: 1525
From: MD
Posted: 2004-03-30 9:27 pm   Permalink




[ This Message was edited by: johntiki on 2005-03-05 20:08 ]


 
View Profile of johntiki Send a personal message to johntiki  Goto the website of johntiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Turbogod
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 14, 2002
Posts: 1219
Posted: 2004-03-31 04:38 am   Permalink

John I've got a copy of Soundforge and also Cubase VST, either one could do it. I will be leaving for FL for the the week on Friday. I also have a 4 channel audio in/out sound card. We could do something when I get back.

 
View Profile of Turbogod Send a personal message to Turbogod      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
johntiki
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 31, 2002
Posts: 1525
From: MD
Posted: 2004-03-31 06:11 am   Permalink

Turbogod - if I haven't figured it out by the time you get back I'll take you up on that offer!


_________________


 
View Profile of johntiki Send a personal message to johntiki  Goto the website of johntiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
johntiki
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Mar 31, 2002
Posts: 1525
From: MD
Posted: 2004-03-31 06:40 am   Permalink

Like an idiot I went to the Sound Forge website and noticed it was a Sony product and considering I own a Vaio, I searched the programs and discovered I already have an older version on my computer! I fooled around with it a bit and was able to make a stereo file audible only on one channel! Now, I need to figure out how to paste another audio clip onto the silent channel and I'm set... Turbogod any tips or suggestions?
_________________


 
View Profile of johntiki Send a personal message to johntiki  Goto the website of johntiki     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Swanky
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Apr 03, 2002
Posts: 5011
From: Hapa Haole Hideaway, TN
Posted: 2004-03-31 07:02 am   Permalink

Make that audio clip mono, then copy it and then paste in the one channel. If it won't do it by simply clicking and pasting, you will likely find a "Paste in one channel" option somewhere in there.
_________________

Announcing Swank Pad and Crazy Al's Molokai Maiden!


 View Profile of Swanky Send a personal message to Swanky  Email Swanky Goto the website of Swanky     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Johnny Dollar
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Oct 01, 2003
Posts: 2953
From: Baltimore, Maryland, PNG
Posted: 2004-03-31 07:12 am   Permalink

hey johntiki, how's this for another idear... instead of creating a whole disc with two separate but merely time-offset tracks, why don't you see if you can buy a delay (echo pedal? or something) at yer local music store. That way you could feed the audio out through that to your speakers, and allow the audio out from the cd goto your flashy machine... voila? or not? maybe ask some of the musicians on the board if such a thing might work... mahalo, j$
_________________


 
View Profile of Johnny Dollar Send a personal message to Johnny Dollar  Email Johnny Dollar Goto the website of Johnny Dollar     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Turbogod
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Jun 14, 2002
Posts: 1219
Posted: 2004-03-31 08:08 am   Permalink

There should be a Paste SPecial \ MIX under the EDIT toolbar.

 
View Profile of Turbogod Send a personal message to Turbogod      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
mriddle
Tiki Socialite

Joined: Sep 06, 2003
Posts: 119
From: The Valley, like totally!
Posted: 2004-03-31 09:28 am   Permalink

If all you want to do is have the lights come on and off to the sound, that's a piece of cake. I was in a cheesey rock band in the mid 80's and my guitarist rigged his microphone through a small box that turned on and off the lights to his voice...or any audio signal. If I'm uderstanding you correctly, it shouldn't matter if you have the audio on 2 mono tracks or stereo with that type of setup. You should look at stage lighting not audio. As far as audio programs go, you don't need to spend $100's on sequencers or editors like Cubase or ProTools if that's all you want to do. There are shareware programs out there that do it. Check Zdnet.com Even ProTools offers an 8-track FREE version at their site (www.digidesign.com).

Now, if you are planning on doing much more control than lights on & off, that will step up the gear needs and cost quite a bit. There are lighting systems that can be controlled via MIDI. That means you can use a sequencer software like Cubase or something cheaper and literally "record" your light show like you would record a keyboard into the sequencer via MIDI. Then you can playback the MIDI commands to the lighting rig. You will need to use a set of MIDI commands called "MIDI Show Control". Your lighting rig will also need to have MIDI input on the controller box and be able to recognize MIDI Show Control commands.


 
View Profile of mriddle Send a personal message to mriddle  Email mriddle     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
U-Moderate:
  
v1.5

[ About Tiki Central | Contact Tiki Central | Advertise on Tiki Central ]
(c) 2000-2014 Tikiroom.com (tm), Tiki Central (tm)

Credits & copyright infomation