FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Tiki Carving Question for carvers...
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
Question for carvers...
ChefMike
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2004-06-14 08:23 am   Permalink

Hello I'm a newbie here, so I hope this isnt a stupid question. I want to try my hand at carving. I was a painter and musician, before becoming a full time chef. So, I dont have as much time for art as I would like! The only carving I have done is ice carving
Anyway there is a huge red cedar log, about 6 ft. long out in the yard. It's been there nearly 5 years,(just been plantin' flowers around it)

Would red cedar be terrible to carve?

Does it splinter too much?

View Profile of ChefMike Send a personal message to ChefMike      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
freddiefreelance
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2004-06-14 09:15 am   Permalink

Have you carved any Tiki Ice Sculpures? That would be something I'd like to see pictures of.

What tools do you use for Ice Sculpures? I'd assume a chainsaw for roughing out large pieces then chisels, gouges & an ice pick for the finer details. These're the same tools used by most of the carvers on this board (less the ice pick, though). You'd just have to add sanding, burning, & staining/varnishing to your skills, and I'd think they're the least important of the needed skills. I think being able to choose a good design, lay it out, rough it out & add details are much more important.

View Profile of freddiefreelance Send a personal message to freddiefreelance      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
ChefMike
Tiki Centralite

Posted: 2004-06-14 09:28 am   Permalink

Quote:

On 2004-06-14 09:15, freddiefreelance wrote: