FEATURES | MUSIC | BOOKS | DRINKS | FORUMS | GAMES | LINKS | ABOUT

advertise on Tiki Central

Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop
  [Edit Profile]  [Edit Preferences]  [Search] [Sign Up]
[Personal Messages]  [Member List]  [Help/FAQ]  [Rules]  [Login]
Tiki Central Forums Creating Tiki Tiki Carving Please point me in the right direction
Please point me in the right direction
hunka27

Posted: 2004-06-24 9:31 pm   Permalink

sorry, i know how people hate people asking repeated questions and i'm sure this is probably one of those times, sorry i'm a newbie I've been searching the net for some information on building a tiki bar and i came across this site which seems like it will be a lifesaver. I browsed a bit but I was wondering if someone could help me find materials, mainly thatch and bamboo. (I live in new york in case it makes a difference). And if there's any kind of guide that shows how to build one that would be cool. I saw some tiki carvings on here, you guys are awesome! I would love to get into that but i'd probably be better off buying one after ruining hundreds of pieces of wood. Thanks in advance guys!

View Profile of hunka27 Send a personal message to hunka27      Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
ikitnrev
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2004-06-24 9:39 pm   Permalink

Here is a place that might help you out - located in nearby New Jersey

http://www.bambooandrattan.com

Vern

View Profile of ikitnrev Send a personal message to ikitnrev  Email ikitnrev     Edit/Delete This Post Reply with quote
Swanky
Tiki Socialite

Posted: 2004-06-24 9:42 pm   Permalink

I think the general view on how to build a bar is to just build it. If you have the tools, and are thinking of making it, just go with your own ideas. It's basically a 4 foot high box with a shelf. Trust yourself.

Announcing Swank Pad and Crazy Al's Molokai Maiden!